Letting go of yourself!

1 Corinthians 13The Message (MSG)

The Way of Love

 If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate.

If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

3-7 If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.

8-10 Love never dies. 

When I read the above scriptures today, I had to pause and ask the Holy Spirit some technical questions. What is Love? And He replied saying is not What but Who is Love? It is good that the world tag “Love” as a feeling, and it is widely accepted by all. But it is not a right statement. While it is truth that Love is an affection, it is not a fact. The fact is, Love is not some feeling or affection. Love is personified. Love created the earth, the heavens, the seas, the oceans, the rivers, the rainbow, the animals, the fishes, the birds and every living thing that moves on the face of the earth. I guess by now you already know who I’m talking about. Well incase you don’t, I’m talking about  “God”. But Voke, how do you know Love is God? Well, in 1st John’s gospel 4:8  it clearly says that “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love”. 

It is also important for you to know that God’s Love is not self centred because if it was, he could have just waved His hands to saved the world of her sins but he showed He Loves us so much that He gave Jesus as a ransom for all who will believe in Him.  But Man’s Love is extremely self centred. As a matter of fact, before a man does something for someone 95% of what He thinks about first are his benefits. You help me I help you. Over here in Nigeria there’s a slogan we use for it “You scratch my back, I scratch your back”. This kind of Love will make your boss at the office ask you to go to bed with him or her to retain your job and be promoted. This kind of Love will make a young dude buy a pretty girl something nice and expecting to have her as his girlfriend. This love has being so monetized to the point when a guy tells a girl he loves her, he automatically turns to her ATM card. It has being so sexualized to the degree a guy can’t tell a girl I love you because she translates it to “he wants to have sexual intercourse with me”. Man’s love is so self centred that man could do anything to prove his worth. This love wants to be noticed, wants to be praised and commented on. 

Unfortunately, the world is ruled by two personalities God (who is Love) and Man (trying to be love). Believe it or not but we only have two categories of people on planet earth. Those who have God (who is Love) and those who have Man’s self centred love (trying to be love). Chapter three of our opening scripture says “if I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love…..” How is that possible? That someone could give everything he/she got to the poor and it wasn’t out of Love?  And to think that one can give his/herself to be burnt and its totally not out of Love? Who does that kind of a thing? Well, good question………….

Ironically, the Love in this context is talking about God! And the love exhibited in the context is man’s kind of love. But how can one be so full of his/herself and do all this? Well it just shows you the extent to which man’s love can go to prove his/herself. The motive behind what is done is more important than what is done. Though the devil fights us spiritually,  the major obstacle to man is himself. 

Ever wondered why Jesus made this statement in Luke 9:23 AMP.And He was saying to them all, “If anyone wishes to follow Me [as My disciple], he must deny himself [set aside selfish interests], and take up his cross daily [expressing a willingness to endure whatever may come] and follow Me [believing in Me, conforming to My example in living and, if need be, suffering or perhaps dying because of faith in Me]. Denying one’s self and taking up the Love of another is a battle within itself. The feeling of not being in charge is really frustrating. But the eternal benefits of having God’s Love in you as you let go of your love is beyond description. You get to be a radical Lover with His strength, you get to give all you have to the pour and still be happy, your life becomes an adventure daily because you get to give it to God and He drives you to do amazing things for Him. Who wouldn’t want such a life where you can not fail, not because of yourself acclaimed love but because of God’s Love in you. A life where the hurts of people can’t stay in you because you got a Hurt-Proof who is God.The kind of life where you can put up with anything anywhere because you got God in you. You can only have this sweetious life if you will have His Love and let go of your love. And you can only have His Love through His Son Jesus. Receive Him today…..

Leave a Reply

