Quit The Blame Game!

​​Genesis 3:9-13 “Then the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you?” He replied, “I heard you walking in the garden, so I hid. I was afraid because I was naked.” “Who told you that you were naked?” the Lord God asked. “Have you eaten from the tree whose fruit I commanded you not to eat?” The man replied, “It was the woman you gave me who gave me the fruit, and I ate it.” Then the Lord God asked the woman, “What have you done?” “The serpent deceived me,” she replied. “That’s why I ate it.”

Looking at this beautiful story that started well on a platter of gold. A garden already furnished with diverse kind of fruits, various animals on the land, in the air, and in the sea for food, Blessed to be fruitful, increase in number, fill the earth and subdue it.Rule over the fish of the sea,the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground. God gave the new couples something to live for (Purpose). He gave them responsibility. He made them overseers of the earth and caretakers over all He created. They were free to eat all fruits of the garden except one…….just one. Can you believe that; so many responsibilities and just one No! Well, it would’ve being easy for him to have responded positively seeing it was just one right? Among the things God gave the couple’s was freedom. There was no limit whatsoever to what they could do. He gave them free will to make their own decisions even with the responsibilities he gave them. Adam gave names to all the animals that he saw and that’s the name they are all called up to this day. You see it was difficult for the couple’s to enjoy all the Yes but could not stay away from the single No given to them. Although it wasn’t stated how long they endured the urge to get the fruit because the bible said the fruit was pleasant to the eyes…. meaning it looks yummy and drags your appetite to want to eat it. Someone reading this might be so angry with Adam for his inability and capability to keep a single rule. Well here is why. I still remember as a child that whenever I’m told not to do or touch something, the tendency to touch it or the curiosity to know why I’m told not to touch or do such a thing always pop’s up. Don’t even say, Adam wasn’t a child, he was a man. Don’t you forget he was also human. 

Now, as human’s,  we always want to know why something was said and why something was done. Which is why the serpent used that as the first step to tempt Eve. The serpent asked “Did God say you shouldn’t eat of every fruit of the garden”? The woman replied by saying “No, but of the tree in the middle of the garden you shall not eat or touch it or you’ll die”. You can see here that the content of her heart was revealed. She has admired the fruit so much that she said in her heart “I might not eat it but I’d love to touch it and feel this gorgeous fruit. You tell me, when a fruit gets to your hand, what’s the next place it goes?…… your guess is as good as mine. Just like Eve, we all face situations daily and we make thesame decision she made over thousands of years ago. Work starts by 8am, don’t be late to work, don’t stay out late when its past 7pm, don’t bring your friends over to the house when its late at night, don’t visit a guy or a lady alone, don’t joke around during work hours e.t.c. we all want to find out why and we end up breaking rules…………….. The reason the couple’s hid themselves after eating the fruit wasn’t really fear but shame. We all try our best each day to avoid anything that will bring shame to us. But we live in a world where its gradually being removed ftom our culture because they feel it doesn’t serve any purpose. With Sin comes shame. In our world today, the word Sin or wrong has being substituted for the term mistake. We are not sinners we are only mistakers. A mistake is something that happens unintentionally, an accident so to say. How can someone do something that will hurt someone else and call that a mistake? Well, welcome to our world…….

Sin led to shame and Shame led to Blame. Adam began making excuses for his actions and blaming God for what he did. It was the woman you gave me who gave me the fruit and i ate. If translated, it will be “God if you hadn’t put this woman in my life, none of this would’ve happened”. Also it could be “Why would you think it isn’t good for me to be alone,  did I complained that I needed a help mate? I was fine with the animals until you brought this thing into my life, and now, see what she has caused”. From all indications you can clearly see that Adam is refusing responsibility for his action or behaviour. And whenever people refuse to take responsibility for their behaviours or actions, they look for someone else to blame. Who knows what would’ve happened if Adam had said “Daddy, I’m sorry we both ate the fruit, it was looking good and it caught our attention. Can you pls forgive us? We love you Daddy…” maybe things would be different now but God knows best because He is the master planner.

 From Genesis till now, God is still being blamed for the evil happenings in the world. “The woman you gave to me has become……” the job you refuse to give to me, the accident you didn’t stop, the child you didn’t give to me, the husband you didn’t give to me, the promotion you didn’t give to me, the wife you didn’t give to me, the disease or sickness you refused to heal, my father or mother you took from me to be with you in heaven and left me to suffer, the rape you allowed to happen, the molestation you watched while it happen. On and on and on we can keep going. But just as the reasoning of Adam was faulty, so is ours. It is high time we start taking responsibilities for any wrong done to humans and to God. Quit the blame game. It doesnt make you feel better but if it does, you got to figure out how to be selfless and people conscious and start practicing the words “I’M SORRY”. It heals alot of wounds and quenches the fire of massive troubles. Everyone wants to hide under the shadow of something or someone when a wrong is done and I believe the best shadow that can cover all your flaws and weaknesses too is that of God….. apologize to Him when you offend Him, apologize to people when you offend them, no matter how little they look. If you and I will quit blaming others for our wrongs and take responsibilities for them, we will have a world of extraordinary people doing amazing things for one another… 

2 thoughts on “Quit The Blame Game!

Leave a Reply

